Stanfill and Guard SHRED

My friend Ryan Guard kicks butt.  He just spoke for our Winter Snowboard Trip this last week in Big Bear.  I laughed.  I cried.  I was inspired.  I learned.  I heard directly from God through him.  It was the most refreshing week for me.  I’ll never forget the tax collectors description or God jumping off the porch to sprint after me.  I’ll never forget the vile Ephesians, the many-breasted Artemis and the Way that changed a city.  I’ll never forget Ryan’s story as proof that God does miraculous, road-to-damascus-type 180’s in the lives of people even today.

Brett Stanfill and his band (Van, Bobby, Anders, and Michael) drew our group so powerfully into God’s presence as well.  I haven’t felt the presence of God this thick in the last decade.  Their talent and humility collided and Jesus unloaded himself on us.  I’ll never forget Brett backing away from the mic Wednesday night during the OPENING song and hearing 100 voices at deafening volume cry out like cannons, “You are holy, great and mighty, the moon and the stars declare who you are!”

Even writing this now, several days after the fact, I’m blown away by God’s power to flood through his people in ways that are “immeasurably more than I can ask or imagine.”

