Lawrence Welk Church in 2010?

Anna and I stumbled across something on TV that immediately made us laugh out loud.  It made us crack up.  Again and again and again.  We had to hang in there long enough to find out what it was.  It was obviously old.  Late 60’s?  Early 70’s?  Bad clothes.  Bad hair.  HORRIBLE music.  At least to our ears.

For a second I thought it was a Saturday Night Live spoof of something.  But then we realized this was no spoof.  It was REAL.  And that made it even funnier.  And mildly disturbing at the same time.

Turned out it was an old episode of The Lawrence Welk Show.  We were rolling on the floor laughing and also flabergasted that this ever really meant anything serious to anyone.  I’m sure people will feel the same about The Black Eyed Peas or American Idol years from now.  If not now, already.

Then my brain kicked in and I started getting concerned.  Hopefully too concerned, but something tells me not.

What if unsaved-unchurched people see traditional church today the same way that Anna and I saw that Lawrence Welk show?  Hilarious, outta touch, and totally irrelevant.

I have this constant filter on in my life that is ALWAYS wondering how unchurched people are processing what’s going on inside our services.  Admittedly, I’ve got this fear that many people see much of our Christian culture the way I saw the show that night – and then dismiss it as ridiculously out of touch.  I’m regularly praying for the Lord to give me clarity into what to say and how to say it.  I know I must let Him direct what we do and say… regardless of cultural or generational cues.

But I also know God is a cultural God.  He’s innovative.  He can speak ALL of our languages.

I applaud the churches who are speaking several different cultural languages to several different generations in the same church.  I applaud  churches who have clung to the timeless message of God’s Word, but who are constantly trying to make sure the medium of communicating them speaks the language of the people in their community in 2010.  Not just 1971.

