Life Lessons From Pop

Today would’ve been Pop’s 83rd birthday.  I miss him everyday so far.  In honor and celebration of a life well-lived, here’s a short look at some of my favorite lessons, that are so much deeper than face value, that I learned from watching my hero – my grandfather – my Pop:

  • When in public, walk next to or beside your girl.  If you’re behind her, you can’t see her to protect her.
  • Any music is good music as long as it’s Sinatra.
  • Sometimes you just gotta punch somebody – but when you do, make sure you put your thumb on the outside of your fist.
  • Weebles wobble, but they don’t fall down.
  • You always gotta have a little cash in your pocket.
  • Just because you’re getting older doesn’t mean your fashion should be lame. Stay current & classy in attire.
  • A pat on the back from your pastor and him remembering your name is almost better than a good sermon.
  • Bodysurf every chance you get.  And if you get stuck in a riptide, don’t fight against it.  Instead, swim parallel to shore and then swim in.
